Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Blast shields for EM chemistry labs: Design and Use
Bert
Super Administrator

Mood: " I think we are all going to die. I think that love is an illusion. We are flawed, my darling".

[*] posted on 6-5-2014 at 05:48
Blast shields for EM chemistry labs: Design and Use

I have some experience in blast shield design for industrial pressing operations, such as rockets or flares where a composition is consolidated into a tube with hydraulic pressure.

Typical installation is a dedicated fixture for a particular press or other type of machine, sometimes hinged/rotating in and out of position. For factory use, a disconnect switch to prevent machine operation with the guard out of place would be advised.

I'm researching this in regards to setting up an experimental EM chemistry lab. Rather a different type of use, as equipment setup and manipulation of equipment and materials would be highly varied.

I find plenty of information on when employers/schools/government agencies suggest or require USE of a blast shield- But little on construction parameters, material choices and the nuts & bolts of fabrication.

https://cdn.auckland.ac.nz/assets/chemistry/for/current-stud...

On searching sciencemadness.org, I found plenty of suggestions on when a shield should be USED- And some information on home lab improvisation (that might leave a little to be desired?)

Although using tempered glass is a good start- A laminated shield with alternating layers of polycarbonate and acrylic plastic, with a tempered glass face on the side towards the potential explosion (protecting plastic components from scratches, melting and solvent mars or embrittlement) really seems wiser to me!

https://www.sciencemadness.org/whisper/viewthread.php?tid=23...