Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: help with endocannibinoid system
chemrox
International Hazard

Mood: LaGrangian

[*] posted on 28-1-2013 at 17:11
help with endocannibinoid system

I ran across some very interesting information on liver fibrosis reversal through CB-1 antagonism to the endocannabinoid system. This is quite a distance form my comfort level and education. I would like someone familiar with this kind of biochem to tutor me on the subject. Is a CB-1 endocannabinoid antagonist something that could be found or derived from Cannabis? Would a reasonable treatment for hepatic fibrosis be medical marijuana? It seems that the internet discussions point to conflicting activities in cannabis where the beneficial effects for liver conditions lie in the cannabidiol molecule as opposed to THC ligands which allegedly accelerate deterioration. I am just beginning research on this aspect. The attached abstract has some of the information I'm asking about and I will ask for the ref in the appropriate forum.
Thanks for any and all pointers.
CRX

Attachment: CB-1 antagonism abstract.pdf (12kB)
This file has been downloaded 1125 times

"When you let the dumbasses vote you end up with populism followed by autocracy and getting back is a bitch." Plato (sort of)
crazyboy
Hazard to Others

Mood: Marginally insane

[*] posted on 28-1-2013 at 18:09

You seem to be confused about some terminology. Agonists are compounds that activate the neuronal receptor that it attaches to; antagonists attach to a receptor but does not activate it or if it displaces an agonist at that receptor it seemingly deactivates it thereby reversing the effect of the agonist. Cannabis contains cannabinoids which are CB1 and or CB2 agonists, the agonism of the CB1 and CB2 receptors results in the feelings associated with being high.