Sciencemadness Discussion Board
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: how to make zinc silicate?
wyndham
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 20-11-2011 at 12:08
how to make zinc silicate?

I need some help. I'm a potter that uses zinc oxide in one of my specialty glazes. I also have a large amount of powdered zinc metal. I would like to find a method to create zinc silicate from the powdered zinc or from zinc oxide.
I'm a potter not a chemist so what I have to start with are several raw materials. first the 2 forms of zinc, next some sodium silicate(water glass) and have access to several common acids as well as soda ash.
What I would like to do is make a solution and through evaporation create zinc silicate crystals. I will then use these crystals in a glazes to act as seeds to grow large zinc silicate crystals on my pottery.
I currently do this with the zinc oxide in the glaze but zinc silicate and the zinc oxide would give me a wider range to work with in my glazes.I hope someone here might have an idea to help me develop these zinc silicate crystals.
Thanks for any thoughts on this.
Wyndham

nickle blue tray.jpg - 136kB
Adas
National Hazard

Mood: Sensitive to shock and friction

[*] posted on 20-11-2011 at 12:37

Na2SiO3 + ZnCl2 ----> 2 NaCl + ZnSiO3

And before reacting Zn or ZnO with HCl, I recommend you to distill it. Technical grade HCl contains iron contamination.

[Edited on 20-11-2011 by Adas]
Nicodem
Super Moderator

[*] posted on 20-11-2011 at 13:27