Printable Version  
Author: Subject: wheres this error?
lol
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 24-7-2010 at 18:35
wheres this error?

hi folks,

im new to this and i could use some help....im trying to have the numbers add up....

now im trying to make this recipe: PTC Methylenation of Catechol (Using CTAB) (http://www.erowid.org/archive/rhodium/chemistry/methylenatio...)

it reads; and 3.2 grams (0.1 mol) of cetyltrimethylammonium bromide (Cetrimonium Bromide, CTAB)

is this a typo in the mol part? all the sources tell me that the CTAB is 364,45 grams per mole

[Edited on 25-7-2010 by lol]
mewrox99
Hazard to Others

[*] posted on 24-7-2010 at 21:32

Your wanting to make MDMA aren't you?
zed
International Hazard

Mood: Semi-repentant Sith Lord

[*] posted on 24-7-2010 at 21:50

The Rhodium Archive isn't known for its fastidious accuracy.

It is generously provided free of charge, and it contains lots of interesting information,
but a fair percentage of the material presented contains errors. Or, alternately, has no real practical applications.

Try to access an original paper on the subject.

Peach has a recent series of posts on the subject you are trying to grok. Maybe he knows something.

Methyl aryl ether demethylation of 4-Allyl-2-methoxyphenol - a LONG discussion

[Edited on 25-7-2010 by zed]
lol
Harmless

[*] posted on 25-7-2010 at 07:50

thanx, enough to read there :)

@mewrox99 i'll make anything as long as its edible
psychokinetic
National Hazard

Mood: Constantly missing equilibrium

[*] posted on 25-7-2010 at 16:49

Uh oh.

Quote:
I'm new to this

Quote:
im trying to make this recipe: PTC Methylenation of Catechol (Using CTAB) ( http://www.erowid.org...)

Great start. Welcome to SM.

“If Edison had a needle to find in a haystack, he would proceed at once with the diligence of the bee to examine straw after straw until he found the object of his search.