Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Ozonolysis

ODBAL - 9-11-2016 at 03:36

Hi everyone,

This is my first post. I have just received a new ozone generator and I want to give a go at splitting some alkenes. Specifically I'd like to try the ozonolysis of styrene mostly because it is a terminal alkene that would yield fairly distinctly identifiable carbonyl species.

My concerns are that I've never tried this reaction before, so I am unfamiliar with the work-ups. I have a set of glassware dedicated to peroxide like stuff that I can put behind a blast shield.

If I wish to follow this up with a reduction of the ozonide, what might the procedure be like for say Zn/AcOH? or NaBH4? Do I just dump in a mixture of the reducing agent after the reaction is finished?

Rhodanide - 9-11-2016 at 09:31

Quote: Originally posted by ODBAL  
Hi everyone,

This is my first post. I have just received a new ozone generator and I want to give a go at splitting some alkenes. Specifically I'd like to try the ozonolysis of styrene mostly because it is a terminal alkene that would yield fairly distinctly identifiable carbonyl species.

My concerns are that I've never tried this reaction before, so I am unfamiliar with the work-ups. I have a set of glassware dedicated to peroxide like stuff that I can put behind a blast shield.

If I wish to follow this up with a reduction of the ozonide, what might the procedure be like for say Zn/AcOH? or NaBH4? Do I just dump in a mixture of the reducing agent after the reaction is finished?

Here's a thread about Ozonolysis, it might help you, it might not. Cheers! Link: http://www.sciencemadness.org/talk/viewthread.php?tid=13467

zed - 9-11-2016 at 15:45

Ummm. Styrene. I'm not sure Styrene will do what you want it to.

Now, Iso-eugenol..... That can be done. Maybe even profitably.