Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Cast Aluminum Digestion for ICP-AES

bmse - 9-10-2015 at 05:00

Hi, I'm fairly new to the analysis of metals with ICP-AES and need some help digesting aluminum samples with high silicon content. Does anyone have any tips/methods that would digest this and get accurate results for silicon? I'm hoping to find a method that uses no hydrofluoric?

Thanks!

Crowfjord - 9-10-2015 at 09:05

If you want the silicon to dissolve, you're going to need hydrofluoric acid. At least, that's the only way I have learned how to do it in my three years of analyzing metals via ICP-AES. For high silicon aluminum like AA 380 or similar, the way we do it involves digesting ~0.5 g of sample in a mixture of 15 mL concentrated hydrochloric acid and 10 mL 78% nitric acid, followed by addition of about 2 mL of 48% HF.

Maybe ammonium bifluoride would work instead, but that still technically contains HF.

I guess you could quantitate the silicon gravimetrically by filtering and taking the mass after drying. You would need also to analyze the solution for silicon by ICP-AES to get the tiny amount that dissolved and add that to the gravimetric result.

[Edited on 9-10-2015 by Crowfjord]

bmse - 11-10-2015 at 19:08

I thought it might be a lost cause to digest it without HF... For your method, do you heat the solution when you put the hydrochloric and nitric? And after you add the HF you just bring it to 100, or 250 mL end vol?

Crowfjord - 11-10-2015 at 19:32

Whoops, I realized the mixture I cited is what we do for for steel and titanium. For aluminum, the nitric is cut back to 8 mL. The amounts I have given are for a final volume of 100 mL.