Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Need help for the interpretation of an IR spectra

kaoutar - 18-8-2015 at 10:21

Hello,

I'll need your help for the interpretation of an IR spectra. It's my first time using such analysis. The sample studied is a copper paste removed from copper drawing machine. I'll be greatful if u could tell me wich molecule as represented by these spectra attached as PDF document, and what's the difference between the four spectra.

Attachment: IR spectra.pdf (265kB)
This file has been downloaded 611 times

gdflp - 18-8-2015 at 10:38

This very much seems like a homework problem, in which case you will not get a direct answer. Questions such as these belong in Beginnings.

Show us what(if any) effort you have put into solving this problem. Look up IR correlation tables online, such as this one, this will help you to identify the different functional groups in those spectra. Finally, infrared spectroscopy is not a quantitative analytical technique unlike others such as mass spectroscopy or nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy which allow you to determine the mass of the molecule and it's fragments, and the number of protons(H1) respectively. Thus it is very difficult, if not impossible, to determine the structure of a molecule with only an IR spectrum. IR spectroscopy is best for determining the presence of various functional groups and patterns and, to a lesser extent, the purity of a compound with respect to known contaminants.

fluorescence - 18-8-2015 at 13:49

I wasn't good at IR-Interpretation but there are some things you can look for if it's your first time.