Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Can't figure out which molecular sieve I need

March - 17-9-2014 at 20:56

Recently I have been using military grade gas mask filters to filter Sulfur Dioxide out of Nitrous Oxide. I would like to switch to a reusable molecular sieve as it would be a one time purchase and I would not have to keep buying filters I could just recharge the one I make. I think the type of sieve I want is a 5a molecular sieve. But what I'm worried about is that this type of sieve may also adsorb the N2O. Does anyone know what type of sieve would work best for this?
Thanks,
-March

[Edited on 18-9-2014 by March]

Magpie - 18-9-2014 at 18:57

From this website:

http://www.kayelaby.npl.co.uk/general_physics/2_2/2_2_4.html

the calculated molecular diameter for SO2 is 4.3 A (angstrom) and for N2O is 3.9 A. So these two are very close in size.

It would appear that a 5A sieve would catch them both.

A 4A sieve might provide some separation.

I have no data or experience here. This is just based on theory.

Dan Vizine - 21-9-2014 at 09:02

Molecular sieves with 5 angstrom pores (i.e., 5A sieves) , particularly formulations of Ca, Na aluminosilicates, are used to remove H2S, small mercaptans and carbonyl sulfide, somewhat preferentially, even from gasses that are similarly sized. After all, size is only one consideration with zeolites. Some interactions are stronger than others because of the polarity, polarizability and other characteristics of a potential "sorbate" as well as the natures of the cations present in the particular zeolite.