Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Local Source for Borosilicate Glass?

dorkwad - 28-2-2014 at 04:24

Hey there, I'm a beginner glassblower and I'm looking for any local source of borosilicate glass, my issue is that U.S. pyrex isn't really boro like it's supposed to be, it's soda-lime and it pops and cracks on any contact with my torch.

I could literally use any source, such as a bakeware that's actually borosilicate and not something else, can be in any shape even if it's a dildo although this will not be fun to buy, and yes I've already tried synthesizing it myself but boric acid is very dangerous and I'm waiting on a respirator order to get here.

Dr.Bob - 28-2-2014 at 07:50

I have some broken Pyrex labware which is real borosilicate glass if you just want stuff to practice on. I gave one guy a whole box of broken glassware to melt down years ago, but I have a little bit more now. Plus I have a few items that might be repairable. Do you have access to a proper glass blowing torch and annealing oven, or are you trying to do this at home?

MrHomeScientist - 28-2-2014 at 08:52

What's so dangerous about boric acid? I use that all the time and it's fairly benign - only a 1 health and reactivity hazard. Just wear gloves, and maybe one of those white dust filter masks if you're concerned.

organicchemist25 - 28-2-2014 at 13:08

Boric acid? Dangerous? I guess almost all chemicals are dangerous to some degree, I just would not go eating the stuff and wear gloves and wash hands when done working with it.

I have always thought of it as fairly safe.

I have some broken glassware as well. Some pieces are thick.

dorkwad - 28-2-2014 at 13:13

Quote: Originally posted by Dr.Bob