Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Anethole --> 4-methoxyphenol

Arrheniusthegreat - 8-2-2013 at 12:41

So, I've done some searching around the forums and I can't find any direct answers to this because it all seems to be 4-methoxyphenol from other reagants. I can't seem to find anything as far as literature goes, but then again I'm not too good at searching and finding things around here apparently. So here's what I'm curious about,

1. How do I go from Anethole--> 4-MeOphenol? Do I get an intermediate of Anisealdehyde? I surely spelled that wrong but I'm sure you know what I mean.
2. Would all this be easier to start from phenol?(Could someone pm me about salicylic acid--> phenol? I know its on here somewhere if you could just direct me because I can't seem to find it. Yes I looked for like 30 minutes, if thats lazy well.. whatever.)
3. The last but most important part, what would be the easiest way to prepare 2-methyl 4-methoxyphenol? (It's not the same as just 4-MeOphenol right??:( )

I'm obviously not too informed on this subject matter, but I've a good grasp of running oxidations, condesations, etc etc.

Scr0t - 10-2-2013 at 04:09

The easiest way to 4-Methoxyphenol is monomethylation of Hydroquinone using MeOH/H2SO4/p-Benzoquinone.

Can't you get Hydroquinone?

To convert anethole you could try these
http://www.erowid.org/archive/rhodium/chemistry/benzaldehyde...
http://www.erowid.org/archive/rhodium/chemistry/ba2phenol.ht...

One way to 2-Methyl-4-methoxyphenol...
Formylate 4-Methoxyphenol with Mg/Paraformaldehyde or Reimer-tiemann reaction to give 5-Methoxysalicylaldehyde.
Reduce the carbonyl with a Clemmensen reduction.

Another way could be...
Toluene -> 2-Nitrotoluene (nitration followed by laborious separation of isomers)
2-Nitrotoluene -> 3-Methyl-4-aminophenol (reduction with Al/H2SO4, US2446519, 74% yield).