Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Making Sodium Hydroxide(Lye)

Manifest - 7-12-2012 at 17:55

I am only starting out and so far I have 1 erlenmeyer flask and some Copper Sulfate off ebay to start me off.

Obviously I don't have alot and when I google Make sodium hydroxide I get the electrolysis of NaCl method which never works out for me.

I've thought of a better method.

Instructions
1. Get a suitable crucible and powder some seashells or eggshells into a powder and put that in the crucible.

2. Heat intensely for 5 minutes, this will convert the Calcium Carbonate in the shells into Calcium Oxide and Carbon dioxide.
CaCO3(s) → CaO(s) + CO2(g)

3. Put the newly formed Calcium Oxide into a small amount of water. This reacts to form Calcium Hydroxide.

4. Concentrate this until no more will disolve(Calcium Hydroxide)

5. Add a load of tablesalt to this solution, this will form Sodium Hydroxide and Calcium chloride.
Filter this to get rid of excess tablesalt

This is my first post and I have tried to be as helpful as possible.

I wonder how you could seperate the Lye and the Calcium Chloride.

m1tanker78 - 7-12-2012 at 18:03

This won't work; sodium chloride (in solution) will be your major yield unfortunately. I've read somewhere that sodium bicarbonate(?) can be heated with calcium hydroxide in a furnace to make small amounts of sodium hydroxide. Sounds like a flimsy, messy way of obtaining lye.

Depending on where you live, you may be able to get relatively pure lye OTC. It's rather expensive, though. It can also be sourced from the internet very easily.

Tank

Edited for tired thinking and typing..

[Edited on 12-8-2012 by m1tanker78]

Manifest - 7-12-2012 at 18:08

Quote: Originally posted by m1tanker78