Sciencemadness Discussion Board

K type thermocouple, data acqisition and calibration with Owon B41T+ ohm meter

semiconductive - 8-8-2024 at 13:18

I've been needing Thermal data acquisition capabilities for monitoring chemical reactions and processes; I'm not good at doing it manually and miss a lot of clues when not paying sufficient attention.

There's a reasonably low cost and attractive ohm meter for hobbiest/amateur use, which is capable of logging temperature, voltage, current, and resistance; It's called the Owon™ B41T+ meter (eg: Blue Tooth™ enabled).

This meter is meant to connect to Android™ phones using an app, but an open source library exists to operate it from Linux™ which many people may find more useful.

https://github.com/sercona/Owon-Multimeters

I have compiled and tested the Owon™ Blue Tooth™ reader on a Raspberry PI™-3 embedded computer. The PI is a low cost, educational Linux device that is sufficient to control/automate simple (non-critical) heating and monitoring of chemical processes.

The Linux™ based Owon™ library works, well! (from command line, at least).
However, the meter itself is not a very accurate device with some known flaws:

https://lygte-info.dk/review/DMMOwon%20B41T%20UK.html

But, since the meter works very well with Linux; I'm going to try and calibrate and work around the design defects.

I have bought four devices to get a sample of how production varies on these meters and what kind of precision can be expected. I bought two batches of two meters.

At 20 [°C], I measured the temperature offset of all four meters and collected them into a calibration text file:

calibration_owon.txt
Code:
#ALIAS MAC_ADDRESS Tcalib Toffset Tfreeze Tboil meter1 A0:6C:65:CA:89:56 20.0 6.1 NaN NaN meter2 A0:6C:65:CA:90:15 20.0 0.9 NaN NaN meter3 A0:6C:65:CA:58:ED 20.0 1.5 NaN NaN meter4 A0:6C:65:FD:46:EA 20.0 2.15 NaN NaN