Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Where can I get bacteria professionally identified?

Denatonium - 6-6-2024 at 07:00

Hi all,

I know that as a layman, I can get molds identified to the genus level by buying a test kit at Home Depot and paying the $40 for the mail-in identification service.

Does anyone know of a similar thing except for bacteria and to the species level? To add to the complexity, the organism I have growing might be pathogenic - possibly BSL-3, but could easily also be an environmental contaminant. The growth medium is Middlebrook 7H10 agar.

unionised - 6-6-2024 at 09:27

OK if they might be BSL 3 pathogens .... Start by autoclaving them.

Then ask your local university to identify what's left, by DNA analysis.

Tsjerk - 7-6-2024 at 09:04

Autoclave and 16S PCR/sequencing. Unless you know what you are doing. But you asking this question tells me you should autoclave first.

Just out of curiosity, what do you think you have growing?

Denatonium - 7-6-2024 at 14:33

I'm suspecting a pathogenic mycobacterium species, but I don't know for certain (this is what I'm trying to find out).

The backstory is that I've been gradually feeling sicker and sicker since the middle of 2022, and since the start of 2023, I've had worsening issues ranging from fatigue to lower back pain to coughing up blood. Throughout all of this, my doctors have been adamant that my issues must be psychosomatic. In the first half of 2023, I was tried on amoxicillin and doxycycline and worsened on both. By mid-January of 2024, my lower back pain and respiratory issues were getting to the point where is was getting difficult to do my job at the local grocery store. My family accused me of being a deadbeat when I expressed this to them, and out of desperation, I stocked up on fish antibiotics and quickly realized that fluoroquinolones effectively relieves my symptoms, allowing me to keep going to work and making my family happy.