Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Heat of reaction!

madchemistry - 26-2-2011 at 01:23

Hi everybody! I'm an italian student of chemistry, and I need your help :P
In the lab the teacher reduced a solution of tetrammine palladium with formic acid. He started with a yellow solution containing ammonia and the complex and began do drop HCl. Suddenly a yellow precipitate formed and disappeared. When the precipitate became hard to dissolve, he stopped dropping HCl and started with HCOOH. The reaction was very very slow at the beginning, but after about 30 minutes every drop of the acid caused a very huge amount of gas to be formed. At the end the resulting solution was very clear and incolor with palladium metallic precipitate. Now the problem is: how to work out how many heat was involved in the reduction?? I have not found any data on the web or in my books, so I have no idea!
Hel please :(
I tought I may do something with the reduction potential, but I do not really know how to solve this problem :(

[Edited on 26-2-2011 by madchemistry]

madchemistry - 26-2-2011 at 08:13

I don't need the exact value, but I hope someone can just show me the way :(

Magpie - 26-2-2011 at 09:47

Give us the reaction equation, showing all reactants and products. Then find the heats of formation of those reactants and products. Maybe we can help here. Then it is just simple math: addition and subtraction.

kmno4 - 26-2-2011 at 10:11

[Pd(NH3)2]Cl2 + HCOOH -> Pd + 2 NH4Cl + CO2
(for heat estimation there is no need to use ionic form of this equation)

blogfast25 - 26-2-2011 at 11:12

Quote: Originally posted by kmno4  
[Pd(NH3)2]Cl2 + HCOOH -> Pd + 2 NH4Cl + CO2
(for heat estimation there is no need to use ionic form of this equation)

Rewrite as:

[Pd(NH3)2](2+) (aq) + 2 Cl(-) (aq) + HCOOH (aq) -> Pd (s) + 2 NH4(+) (aq) + 2 Cl(-) (aq) + CO2 (g)

Or (Cl(-) is a spectator ion):

[Pd(NH3)2](2+) (aq) + HCOOH (aq) -> Pd (s) + 2 NH4(+) (aq) + CO2 (g)

Break down as (for Hess’ Law):