Printable Version  
Author: Subject: Experiments??
jhummus
Harmless

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 16-4-2011 at 14:39
Experiments??

Hello Fellow Chemists,
I am a student obtaining a degree chemistry. I am finishing up my last semester of ochem and am about to take biochem, p-chem and probably quant. Here is my so called problem. I love chemistry and it makes sense to me, but even after the labs, the products we get seem meaningless at best. We made nylon in one lab which didn't work and clumped to the bottom, supposedly our reagents had grown old. I was wondering if there was a simple cheap experiment that I could do at home that left me with an actual product. Something that I could say "Wow" I just made that. I am entering into a research program soon which may help with my need to actually make something but as we all know experimental success is one in a million. If there are any suggestions they would be appreciated. I am also looking for some cool easy experiments to show my nieces and nephews to get them into science. Thanks
Random
International Hazard

Mood: Energetic

[*] posted on 16-4-2011 at 15:27

You can make soap, light sticks, perfumes, dyes, corrector fluid.. But this are just few suggestiosn.
m1tanker78
National Hazard

[*] posted on 16-4-2011 at 15:43

Yeah, you need some garage time! :)

Quote:
I am also looking for some cool easy experiments to show my nieces and nephews to get them into science.

One word. Fire. See their eyes fill with wonder. Check out the potassium thread here. It's stickied onto the general forum.
Link: http://www.sciencemadness.org/talk/viewthread.php?tid=14970&...

EDIT: I forgot to add that the "glue + borax = slime" experiment is really cool for kids and is safe.

Tom

[Edited on 4-16-2011 by m1tanker78]
entropy51
Gone, but not forgotten

Mood: Fissile

[*] posted on 16-4-2011 at 17:15

Quote: Originally posted by jhummus