Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Noob Organic Chemistry question involving Oxamide

Velzee - 19-7-2016 at 20:59

Okay, as you may know, I've acquired a good amount of urea, so I sat down and began to draw a bit, and came up with a few ideas, one of which involve synthesizing oxamide.

As you can see, I came up with the idea of reacting urea and sodium oxalate:

https://i.imgur.com/o57Mntz.jpg

But I'm afraid that the oxalate ion would be too electronegative and won't leave the sodium ion, thus leaving no reaction to occur. I'm just a newbie, and I don't have too much knowledge on electronegativity, so please forgive me, but how, if it is at all possible, could I make this reaction occur? Would just mixing the reactants be sufficient enough?

Thank you in advance!

[Edited on 7/20/2016 by Velzee]

Velzee - 21-7-2016 at 18:38

Okay, I attempted to just mix the reactants(3.00g of Na2C2O4, and 1.35g of (NH2)2CO) together, and no visible reaction occurred. If there was, there was too much water(300mL) present, and it's likely that the product, if any, would be dissolved in the solution, along with Na2CO3.

DraconicAcid - 21-7-2016 at 20:26

I don't know about the reaction of carboxylates with urea, but you don't have to worry about the electronegativity. It's ionic. The sodium is just kinda hanging around the anion, and isn't bonded.

Praxichys - 22-7-2016 at 06:35

Typically this preparation of amides involves refluxing the carboxylic acid with urea for extended periods of time. The sodium ion would definitely mess up the reaction, instead probably forming sodium cyanate with the urea and sodium carbonate as the oxalic acid decomposes.