Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Through the looking glass.

M0rphivm - 23-3-2016 at 14:13

Hello folks, I am an honest man and I'd like to ask what is the deal with Borosilicate glass? There are simply so many manufactures! BOMEX, KIMAX, Kimble Cole and not to mention the denumerable number of local blowers that I have managed to find.

I know quite a bit about chemistry, but until now the pursuit has been entirely theoretical, books smarts and a lot of studying mathematics with some dabbling. I want to know know what makes our modern world tick, but I am really lost as to where to get any boro from. I've had some bad experiences... and I am not an imbecile.

I know enough about chemistry to know that I really want nothing but glassware; I simply do not trust plastic for anything terribly serious and wish to employ it as infrequently as possible.

Any biases or suggestions? I am personally done with anything that comes from China. No offense to those that are Chinese... it's why I have come here.

:(

aga - 23-3-2016 at 14:51

Quote: Originally posted by M0rphivm  
I know quite a bit about chemistry

Yes, you do.

Not so much about Acting though.

Same character, again.
Same M.O.
Same shit we've had here for years.

If you were Koji, at least your spores (that infect this forum) would be Useful, in that we could rub damp rice on you and make Saki (rice wine).

Of much more interest (to me at least) Saki is one of the very few parallel fermentation processes known.

The 'koji' fungus converts the rice starch to simpler sugars, then the yeast converts those to ethanol.

Got a pack of some white stuff with chinese markings off ebay : Hopefully it's Koji.

M0rphivm - 23-3-2016 at 17:49

Quote: Originally posted by aga  
Quote: Originally posted by M0rphivm  
I know quite a bit about chemistry

Yes, you do.

Not so much about Acting though.

Same character, again.
Same M.O.
Same shit we've had here for years.