Sciencemadness Discussion Board

Titimetry assistance

aga - 2-4-2014 at 11:19

Could someone kindly check this Titimetry figure please, and probably the method as well.

It's my first time ever, so am unsure that i have the method correct, or that the result is sane.

Today i made some ammonia solution, and wished to see what the concentration was. It certainly makes my eyes water, so it's certainly more concentrated than OTC stuff.

The only item in my collection with a Molar concentration figure on the label is Nitric acid, 6.8 [M], so i used that as the Titrator, given that NH3 solution is basic.

Knowing little, i am assuming that 1 Mol Nitric Acid neutralises 1 Mol Ammonia.

To begin with i diluted the NH3 with some water, and the same with the HNO3, then added some pH Indicator to the NH3 solution and gradually added the Nitric acid solution to see if it fizzed, popped, heated etc, and crucially to see if the colour changed.

The colour did change, with no fizzing or popping or heating, so i had a rough idea of the volumes/dilutions required to do the test, and what the reaction would do.

1ml of the 6.8 [M] HNO3(aq) was diluted with distilled water to a total volume of 50ml.

1ml of the NH3(aq) and some red cabbage water pH indicator were diluted to a total volume of 40ml.

At this point the Titrand solution + indicator were dark green.

The HNO3 solution was gradually added to the NH3(aq) & Indicator solution using a 5ml syringe.

At about 35ml, the colour began to change, and patches of purple/violet could be seen. Oddly they occupied areas in the center of the vessel, and wouldn't move despite swirling. Guess i need to study fluid dynamics to work that one out.

The colour matched (best my eyes could see) the Control indicator sample (violet) in a test tube of pure distilled water, when 45ml of the nitric acid solution was added.

My calculations make this about 4.9 [M] ammonia solution, but i stand to be (repeatedly) corrected.