Sciencemadness Discussion Board

A few questions about electrolysis of CuSO4

EuropeanAnion - 7-1-2014 at 09:54

I'm thinking of a few questions about this process:

1. Can the solution be electrolized too far so that formed H2SO4 reacts further? Cleavage e.g.

2. Is CuSO4 really insoluble in anhydrous H2SO4? I can't fint solubility data for CuSO4 in H2SO4. My thought is to filter out the CuSO4 when the solution is pretty anhydrous.

3. The use of lead electrodes is said to create PbO2 at the surface; is it required that the surface initially is of PbO2 or does it become? In other words, what would happen of I just start the electrolysis with plain lead electrodes? Doesn't the radical formed simply oxidizes Pb to PbO2 in situ? Correct mer if I'm wrong.

Excuse me, my knowledge in electro chemistry isn't that deep - I'm studying organic chemistry and physics. Thanks for competent answers and comments.

MrHomeScientist - 7-1-2014 at 13:10

I'm not the most experienced in electrochemistry either, but here's my take.

1) Not that I've ever heard of. Then again electrolysis alone won't ever get you to a high enough concentration where this might be a problem.

2) Anhydrous copper sulfate is insoluble in anhydrous sulfuric acid, yes. The blue crystals you usually see are the pentahydrate, and the water can be pulled out of them by strong enough acid. I made a video on this a while back: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1zwFwmANw4
However I seriously doubt electrolysis alone can yield concentrated acid. It's conceivable that the water would eventually evaporate as you electrolyze, but this would take forever. I also imagine that if most of the water did leave the solution in some way, it wouldn't be conductive any more since the acid wouldn't be ionized. The usual method is to electrolyze to form dilute acid, then boil away the water until you reach the desired concentration.

3) I believe lead dioxide electrodes require special preparation and cant be made so simply.